YJ half doors on a TJ (LJ)

Technical information on all Jeep models Reviews and Write-ups on all Jeep related items for all models. Please specify Model at the beginning of the "Subject". You may reply to the posts but please use the appropriate other areas for general discussion posts.

Moderator: Tec Team

TFERV
CV team
CV team

YJ half doors on a TJ (LJ)

Post by TFERV »

YJ Half Doors on a TJ or LJ
I don't know if many people know about this or the ease of doing this, but this is a little project that I thought I would do a write up on. I'm not a great mechanic, so I figured this is one thing I could contribute, if anything just to bring awareness of this.
I got this idea and then found a page on a forum that showed how to do it; however they missed a few steps and I have to work around it. This should work for any TJ or LJ Wrangler (mine being an LJ). Some may say, "Why not just buy TJ doors?" They usually go for twice the money and doors (regardless of model) don't always come around at a good price.

First off, you have to remove the TJ striker by unscrewing the bolts then bend out the little tab on the back side holding the nut mounts and take the nut bracket out.
Take the YJ nut bracket and slide it where the TJ one was. put about 3 or 4 washers on the YJ striker pin and screw it in through the top hole that was made from the TJ striker pin.
IMG_1003b.jpg
Second, unscrew the 3 bolts on the side of the door to release the catch/latch. Push it down and out of the way so you can cut/grind off this metal tab that is in the way. Then bring up the catch and line it up to where it will need to meet the striker. Then drill 2 or 3 holes below and slightly inward (toward the inside of the jeep) so that it can be remounted lower and line up with the striker pin.
IMG_1002b.jpg
If you want to open the door from the inside you will have to cut about an inch off of the end of the inside leaver so that it clears your TJ's dash.
yjhalfdoorontj2ha0.bmp.jpg